The Regional Conciliation and Mediation Branches (RCMBs) of the National Conciliation and Mediation Board (NCMB) are preparing towards the 12th National Convention on Labor- Management Cooperation in coordination with the Philippine League of Labor Management Cooperation (PHILAMCOP), Labor Management Cooperation Practitioners – Northern Mindanao, Inc. (LMCP-NMI) and Labor Management Cooperation- Voluntary Arbitration Advocates, Inc. (LMC-VAA) Iligan.

The highlight of the national convention is the awarding of the Outstanding Labor-Management Committees (LMC) award for Industrial Peace that acknowledges the best practices and success stories in maintaining open communication between management and employees.

“In preparation for the National Convention, the RCMBs successfully concluded the Regional Search for Outstanding LMCs with the active participation of our social partners,” NCMB Executive Director Maria Teresita D. Lacsamana-Cancio said today.

Winners at the regional level were screened by the National Screening Committee Chaired by the Deputy Executive Director for Technical Services of the Board to advance to the national finals.  On the other hand, screening of the national finalists were conducted by the National Board of Judges (NBOJ).  On 16-18 October 2019, the NBOJ concluded the final screening at Hotel Jen Manila.

The National Board of Judges (NBOJ) validated and evaluated the finalists based on the quality of their presentations, mutual participation of management and workers in accomplishing their programs and projects, and the successful implementation of the program within a given period which benefitted the workers and the management.

The NBOJ is led by NCMB Executive Director IV Maria Teresita Lacsamana-Cancio, with Tripartite Voluntary Arbitration Advisory Council (TVAAC) Commissioner Atty. Arnold F. de Vera, UP School of Labor and Industrial Relations (UP-SOLAIR) Dean Dr. Ronahlee A. Asuncion, People Management Association of the Philippines (PMAP) Vice-President Louisa Mila V. Echevarria as members.

The Outstanding LMC award aims to build awareness of the existence of Workplace Relations Enhancement as a program of the NCMB and encourage companies without LMCs to establish the same by incentivizing the program through a bi-annual search.

Aside from the Outstanding LMC Awards, the Board also conducts a search for the Best Grievance Machinery Award which acknowledges the best practices and innovations of organized companies in preventing and settling disputes at the enterprise level.

The Outstanding GM Awards was introduced to encourage management and unions to establish a grievance machinery to resolve questions in the implementation and interpretation of collective bargaining agreements (CBA).

The Overall winners for the Outstanding LMCs and Grievance Machinery will be awarded cash prizes and plaques during the 12th National LMC Convention that will be held on 21 November 2019 in Cagayan De Oro City.


Region recognizes winners of Outstanding LMC and GM Awards for Industrial Peace

The RCMB III held an awarding ceremony for the regional winners of the Outstanding LMC Awards for Industrial Peace and Outstanding Grievance Machinery Award on 11 September 2019 at Otel Pampanga, Lazatin Boulevard, Dolores, City of San Fernando, Pampanga.

The awarding ceremony was attended by the officers of the Central Luzon Association of Labor Management Cooperation Practitioners (CLAMP), Inc., other guests included Accredited Voluntary Arbitrators (AVAs) such as AVA Darrow P. Odsey, AVA Ma. Rose Santos-Mandap and other LMC practitioners in the region.

The Regional Screening Committee was led by RCMB III Director Edgar G. Aquino. Members of the Panel on the other hand, is composed of Department of Labor and Employment Regional Office III Technical Support and Services Department Chief Labor and Employment Officer Maria Rima C. Hernandez, CLAMP Secretary/HR Supervisor Teresita Irene M. Castañeda, V.L. Makabali Memorial Hospital; and CLAMP Vice-President for Union Sector/Union President Eufemia C. Ayro, Wesleyan University Philippines Faculty and Staff Association.

The Branch selected four winning entries from three participating companies with LMCs and GMs.

The LMC awardees from Region III were Perpetual Prime Manufacturing, Inc. (PPMI), Mariveles, Bataan; Orica Philippines, Inc. (OPI), Limay, Bataan; and International Electric Wires Philippines Corporation (IEWPC), San Miguel, Tarlac City.

The winners were represented by their HR managers, supervisors, union officers and workers’ representatives during the awarding ceremony.

Meantime, IEWPC received the award for Best GM Award for peacefully resolving their grievances and preventing issues from becoming full blown disputes.

“The participants of the search have demonstrated effective communication, mutual trust and support, and cooperation to create a better working environment,” Dir. Aquino said.

He further conveyed his gratitude to everyone for their efforts to make the Regional Search meaningful and successful.

END/ Gillian Pearl L. Guerrero and Ma. Girlie D. Layug